Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Should DJs Announce Song Names at Clubs?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Should DJs Announce Song Names at Clubs?

Notice to all Music Producers and Nightclub DJs:
    Should DJs Announce Song Names at Clubs AFTER every song?
    By Edie, The Salsa FREAK!! [URL="http://www.salsafreak.com"] www.SalsaFreak.com [/URL]

I am a dancer and instructor.
    I represent dancers and can relate to dancers.Dancers dance to Music (duh).

Without music, there would be no dancers, however without dancers, there would still be music.
    I have heard over the year, via the grapevine, from countless promoters, that there is however a very wide “disconnect” between Dancers and Musicians. To put it bluntly, there is simply the Cl***ic “Lack of Communication” between the two.

Allow me to explain.
    Most Music Artists and band members do not take the time to learn to excel in dancing as dancers do. Most dancers do not take the time to research who the artist of every song is, much less the song name. Most don’t even care (sad but true), and most dancers just want the next song to start so they can keep dancing.

After taking Albert Torres' History of Music cl*** for the second in Switzerland this year, and discussing this very subject with him, he continues to tell me how disappointed he is that the dancers don’t know the artists of the songs, nor the song names. He took a poll in the cl*** and asked how many dancers knew who Tito Puente was…then Celia Cruz… then Eddie Palmieri… the results were astonishing. Less than 15% of the cl*** raised their hands for every artist mentioned. I myself was shocked. The first time i took his cl***, was about five years ago in Sweden. Back then over 50% of the people raised their hands. Now only 15%?

The numbers are diminishing. As each year p***es, less and less people / dancers remember who the greatest Salsa / Mambo artists of all of history were. This is truly a tragedy.